Tag

honda city hybrid review

Review: Honda City Hybrid – electrified performance for the masses

(Model | Gallery)The Honda City needs no introduction, as it is Malaysias favourite non-national B-segment sedan.Honda Malaysia offers several variants of the City, ranging from the affordable City 1.5 S (from RM 73,836) all the way up to the City Hybrid (from RM 92,172). We reckon that the Honda City Hybrid is worth it, as the sophisticated powertrain transforms the unassuming Honda City into a capable performer that does not sacrifice fuel consumption.Honda City ExteriorThe Honda City Hybrid m

Eric

Eric

Nov 1, 2019

Honda opens Malaysia’s first hybrid vehicle battery assembly plant, for 2020 Honda City RS

Honda Malaysia has opened Malaysia’s first high voltage battery assembly plant in Melaka, to support the world debut of the first ever Honda City RS with i-MMD. You can read our review of the City RS here.Production of the full-hybrid Honda City RS with a two-motor intelligent multi-mode drive (i-MMD) has already begun at Honda Malaysia’s Pegoh plant. It is the fifth Honda hybrid model to be produced there.Assembly of the GP1 Jazz Hybrid (IMA) started in 2012, followed by the GP5 Jaz

Hans

Hans

Sep 25, 2020

Honda Jazz Hybrid And City Hybrid – Here’s What You Need To Know

Introduced 2 years ago, the Honda City Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid are Honda Malaysia’s answer to affordable, mass market hybrid models.Malaysia is the only country in the world to locally-assemble and sell the Honda Jazz Hybrid and City Hybrid.Specifications for Honda City Hybrid Engine: 1.5-litre, naturally-aspirated, port injection, i-VTEC Power: 138 PS (combined system output) Torque: 170 Nm (combined system output) Transmission: 7-speed dual-clutch automatic, front-wheel drive Safety: 4 ai

Jack

Jack

Aug 28, 2019

Review: Driving the world's first 2020 Honda City RS with i-MMD in Malaysia

Before we go any further, we need to establish two things. First, the all-new fifth generation 2020 Honda City Hybrid Malaysia (GN series) is yet to be launched. Second, prices have not been announced.However, we were given an early preview drive in the all-new 2020 City on the condition that we dont mention anything about Citys interior – that will have to wait until the car is launched.We were only given a two-lap drive around the Melaka International Motorsport Circuit, but out of the t

Hans

Hans

Sep 25, 2020

Honda City 1.0L Turbo, engine review: Should Malaysians demand for this new engine?

As you might have already know, the latest fifth generation Honda City has just gone on sale in Thailand earlier this year. Hondas B-segment sedan will now one-up its chief rival the Toyota Vios with an all-new 1.0-litre turbocharged engine.The latest Honda City is not expected to be launched in Malaysia until 2021. Thailand remains the only market in the world to sell it, to be followed by India in the second half of 2020, and the rest of world starting 2021.This means that we cant give you our

Hans

Hans

May 26, 2020

Review: 2020 Non-turbo Honda City – What the Indian media says

The 2020 Honda City has yet to go on sale in India, but some Indian medias have started publishing their reviews.To recap, the India market Honda City is slightly different from the Thailand market model. The 1.0-litre turbocharged engine featured on the City RS isn’t offered in India; instead, buyers in India have the choice of two engines: a new 1.5-litre DOHC petrol engine and a carried-over 1.5-litre diesel engine. The petrol engine can be had with a CVT-type automatic or a 6-speed man

Eric

Eric

Jul 1, 2020

Owner Review: The hybrid system failed so I decided to engine swap my car - My Honda Jazz/Fit "Hybrid" RS

** This article is published on WapCar Community. Click the link below to enter the community for car enthusiasts in Malaysiahttps://www.wapcar.my/forumBasic information2012 Honda Jazz Hybrid (CBU) a.k.a Honda Jazz/Fit "Hybrid" RS Reason why I bought this carHybrid Tax Exemption Car selection process I had a budget of: RM100k Models that I have considered include: Toyota Vios, Toyota Prius C, Honda City Reasons why I chose this car: Trim spec offered better than the restUser experien

Owner Review

Owner Review

Dec 2, 2020

Quick Review: 2020 Honda City 1.5L V - good choice for a zippy family car

When we brought you the closer look of the 2020 Honda CR-V facelift last week, we also saw the all-new 2020 Honda City modified parking pretty outside. We know youre clamouring to know more - so we politely asked for the keys and took it for a spin.Please note that this is a brief review, and a detailed review will follow post-CMCO.We drove the V variant - which is the range-topping petrol variant before the upcoming hybrid RS - and heres what we think of it following a brief drive around Kuala

Sanjay

Sanjay

Nov 9, 2020

Honda CR-V PHEV unveiled: 2-motor i-MMD hybrid with 184 PS

At the ongoing Auto China 2020, Honda unveiled the Honda CR-V Sport Hybrid e+, the first Honda model in China to feature a plug-in hybrid (PHEV) powertrain.Set to go on sale in January 2021, the Honda CR-V Sport Hybrid e+ is powered by Honda’s two-motor i-MMD hybrid powertrain. Honda says that the i-MMD hybrid powertrain delivers the “most EV-like feel in virtually all areas for everyday driving, including driving performance, responsiveness and quietness.”Press release jargons

Eric

Eric

Sep 28, 2020

Toyota Vios vs Honda City; How do they compare?

The hottest car segment is undeniably the B-segment sedans. You can’t talk about the Honda City without mentioning the Toyota Vios and likewise. But have you ever compared the two cars’ equipment list side by side?For this comparison, we compare the range topping Toyota Vios G variant against the Honda City V variant and City Hybrid as well.Toyota made a huge mark when they debuted the Vios in 2003, but the third generation, unfortunately, let the model down allowing the City to

Jerrica

Jerrica

Jan 29, 2020

Deliveries of the 2021 Honda City RS to start this March

Amidst the launch of the Honda Connect, Honda Malaysia has also said that the long-awaited Honda City RS hybrid variant will begin delivery to customers from this month onwards.Honda’s telematics system which is already available in Thailand since 2018 will be making its Malaysian debut with the City RS. Honda Connect is able to keep track of your car’s location, remind you of its next service date as well as calling the emergency if you’re involved in a collision.Also read: Ho

CY Foong

CY Foong

Mar 9, 2021

Honda Malaysia releases new teaser video for the 2020 Honda City RS' Sensing feature

The all-new Honda City RS is set to make its global debut in Malaysia soon. It will be the world's first Honda City to feature the company's latest 2-motor full-hybrid i-MMD drivetrain.We’ve driven the car, albeit for a short while and all photos or videos of the car’s interior are embargoed until the car is launched. You can read our review here.The video above demonstrates the Honda City RS' Sensing feature at work.  (function(d, s, id) { let js, fjs = d.getElement

Hans

Hans

Sep 26, 2020

Outgoing (old) GM6 generation Honda City – Is it still a good buy?

The outgoing generation Honda City will soon be replaced with an all-new model. Honda Malaysia have since released a teaser image for the all-new 2020 Honda City, which is expected to be launched in Malaysia within this quarter.To make way for the new model, dealers are offering discounts of at least RM 4,000. Don't expect the all-new Honda City to maintain the current price though. We have already explained why here. In short, removal/reduced EEV incentives by the government

Eric

Eric

Jun 27, 2020

Owner Review: A not so mini "Mini" - My Mini Cooper Countryman Hybrid Review

** This article is the personal experience of a 2019 Mini Cooper Countryman Hybrid owner and does not necessarily reflect the views of WapCar.Sean TanFirst, I want to thank WapCar for providing me with this opportunity to write my first car review. I’ve always been an avid car fan and test-driven various cars as well. But here goes.I’m sure when you hear of Mini Cooper, you won’t hear the words like performance, great handling, fantastic acceleration, or maybe even bi

Owner Review

Owner Review

Sep 18, 2020

The Honda City, Jazz, and CR-V achieved top ranking in quality study

Honda Malaysia’s top sellers, the Honda City, Jazz, and CR-V led their respective segments in the J.D. Power 2019 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS).The Honda City scored 59 PP100 and the Honda Jazz scored 68 PP100. Meanwhile, the Honda CR-V also ranked highest in its segment with a score of 64 PP100.The areas of study include vehicle exterior, engine and transmission, audio entertainment connectivity and others. Based on responses from the number of problems exp

Shaun

Shaun

Feb 19, 2020

Honda City GM6 (generasi sebelum): Berbaloi beli model ini secara terpakai?

Honda CityHonda City generasi GM6 telah dilancarkan pada tahun 2017. Model ini sememangnya agak mudah dijumpai dalam pasaran kereta terpakai dengan julat harga sekitar RM 46,000 hingga RM 76,000. Disebabkan oleh kedatangan model baharu Honda City dalam hujung tahun 2020 ini, berkemungkinan besar model ini akan lebih banyak dijual dalam pasaran kereta terpakai. Oleh itu, adakah berbaloi jika anda masih berminat dengan model yang kurang daripada 5 tahun ini? Latar belakangHonda City telah dilancar

Haris

Haris

Aug 11, 2020

Spyshot: Honda City 2021 e:HEV, Honda City Hatchback 2021 pelancaran Thailand esok!

Honda CityPenafian: Honda City hybrid dan hatchback sudah dilancarkan.Honda memang sukakan Malaysia tetapi Thailand juga masih dekat di hati Honda. Nampaknya, Honda City 2021 e:HEV hybrid bakal dilancarkan di Thailand pada 24 November 2020.Honda City 2021 e:HEV lebih dikenali dengan nama Honda City RS di Malaysia. Varian paling tinggi Honda City 2021 ini belum diumumkan harganya atas sebab-sebab tertentu. Model Honda City hybrid ini melakukan debut dunia melalui pelancaran di Malaysia.Selain dar

Haris

Haris

Nov 23, 2020

Rebiu: Memandu Honda City RS 2020 dengan enjin i-MMD pertama dunia di Malaysia

Sebelum kita mulakan, kami ingin jelaskan dua perkara. Pertama sekali, Honda City (GN Series) 2020 generasi kelima belum lagi dilancarkan. Kedua, harganya belum lagi diumumkan.Namun, kami diberi prebiu pemanduan awal untuk City serba baru ini, dengan syarat kami tak nyatakan apa-apa sekalipun tentang ruang dalamannya. Anda terpaksa tunggu sehingga kereta ini dilancarkan untuk rebiu ruang dalamannya nanti.Kami hanya diberi peluang untuk membuat dua pusingan di Melaka International Motorsport Circ

Mersita

Mersita

Sep 25, 2020

Honda Jazz vs 2021 Honda City Hatchback, which do you prefer?

The first ever 2021 Honda City Hatchback made its global debut in Thailand earlier today. Following the same formula as the Toyota Yaris and Toyota Vios (sold as Yaris Ativ in Thailand), the City Hatchback will have an identical front-end as the City sedan, and will replace the Honda Jazz, which has been sold in this region for three generations. 2020 Honda Jazz (Fit) is cute but unless you are an anime fan, few here can accept its looksThe fourth generation Honda Jazz however, will skip market

Hans

Hans

Nov 24, 2020

2020 Honda City – Less than RM 3,900 to service it over 5 years/100,000 km

The Honda City is Honda’s B-segment sedan and it shares a platform and powertrain with the Honda Jazz. It competes against the Toyota Vios, Mazda 2, and Volkswagen Vento in the non-national B-segment market.In this article, we’ll take a closer look and see how much does it cost to maintain and insure the City 1.5 and City Hybrid over a 5-year period.Starting with the Honda City 1.5, the first service is performed at the 6-month/10,000-km and costs RM 235.39. This service includes eng

Eric

Eric

Jul 4, 2020

The evolution of the Malaysian Honda City in 5 generations

Had it been that we had no local automobile manufacturer, the Honda City / Honda Jazz would probably the most abundant vehicle on our Malaysian roads. The Honda City, as its name suggests, is a city car. While we may have only seen the petrol and hybrid versions of the city here, it is actually available in a diesel variant and even a manual transmission elsewhere.With the arrival of the new 2020 Honda City in Malaysia, it seems like a good time to look back at a brief history of the Honda City.

Arif

Arif

Oct 13, 2020

2021 Honda City RS e:HEV, price confirmed from RM 106k

It’s finally here – after months of waiting, Honda Malaysia has finally revealed prices of the 2021 Honda City RS e:HEV hybrid variant. It is priced at RM 105,950.45.This marks an RM 19k premium over the City 1.5 V – now the second highest-spec model in Honda Malaysia’s line-up. Honda City Prices in Malaysia Variant Price (RM) City 1.5 S 74,191.27 City 1.5 E 81,664.82 City 1.5 V 86,561.45 City 1.5 RS 105,950.45 Do note that p

Eric

Eric

Mar 10, 2021

Review: All-new 2020 Honda City Turbo RS - what does the Thai media think?

Is it me or is it getting hot in here? Honda Malaysia has already started firing us up with teasers of the all-new 2020 Honda City (and taking potshots at the Toyota Vios at that) but is it as hot as its made out to be? Does all-new mean all-good? Thanks to this review by our Thai colleagues at Autofun.co.th who had the range-topping City Turbo RS for a week, we can take an exclusive deep dive into the car thats keen to swoop our markets, such as Honda City interior.Lets dive in!2020 Honda City

Sanjay

Sanjay

Aug 5, 2020

Review: Here's what the Thai media says of the 2021 Honda City Hatchback

The 2021 Honda City Hatchback is coming to Malaysia, and news of it superseding the Honda Jazz has drawn rather mixed reactions. Some lament the Jazzs departure from this region, but our colleagues over at AutoFun Thailand think that the City Hatchback is a worthy successor.Exterior - RS looks goodPictured in Meteroid Grey MetallicTheres three variants of the City Hatchback in the Land of Smiles - S+, SV, and as tested is this range-topping RS variant.Clockwise from top left: LED headlights and

Sanjay

Sanjay

Mar 13, 2021

Honda City - Should you buy one now or wait for the new one?

Honda took the covers off the all-new, fifth-generation City in Bangkok back in November 2019.If you’ve been eyeing one, you may have to wait a fair bit longer, as the soonest the new model could be introduced in Malaysia is late-2020 or early-2021.The all-new City won't be here any time soonNot only has changes in the tax structure and Open Market Value (OMV) calculations delayed car launches a fair bit, the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic isn’t helping matters as well.As such, the cu

Eric

Eric

Mar 25, 2020

At RM 106k, the Honda City RS is only RM 3k cheaper than a Civic - which to buy?

After a 6-month wait, Honda Malaysia has finally revealed the price of the 2021 Honda City RS e:HEV hybrid variant. The range-topping City is priced at RM 105,950.Also Read: 2021 Honda City RS e:HEV, price confirmed from RM 106KYou read that right – prices of the top-spec Honda City have breached the RM 100k mark, almost touching the larger C-segment Honda Civic 1.8 S price (RM 109k).Why is the City RS so expensive? The earlier City Hybrid was much cheaperThe main reason is that City RS e:

Eric

Eric

Mar 15, 2021

Still waiting for Proton X50? Honda City RS prices to be released this week

Almost six months has passed since the all-new, GN-series Honda City was launched in Malaysia. During last Octobers launch, the hybrid variant - the RS - was showcased, but its been a long wait since then for its price list. That wait is not for long more though. Also read: All-new 2020 Honda City (GN-series) launched in Malaysia, new engines, from RM 74kAccording to a document sighted by WapCar.my, prices for the RS will be released later this week, but no indications of a ballpark figure were

Sanjay

Sanjay

Mar 8, 2021

Review: Honda City vs Toyota Vios, does Toyota Vios have any advantages?

(2019 Toyota Vios prices and specs | Gallery)To begin with, a full disclosure – my daily is a 2014 (third generation pre-facelift) Toyota Vios and some bias may be involved in this review, but not in the way that you think, its actually against the Toyota Vios.Personally, the Toyota Vios has never been appealing because to me, it is merely a means to avoid our national brands. And when my family decided to get one back in 2014, needless to say I wasnt particularly thrilled by the news.2014

Shaun

Shaun

Feb 10, 2020

Honda Jazz Hybrid vs Honda Jazz V vs Toyota Yaris; combing through the spec sheet

We’ve compared the Honda Jazz and Toyota Yaris multiple times. But we’ve never really looked closely at the equipment list that each car has. So, we decided to go through the equipment list with a fine-tooth comb!Here’s a quick reminder of each car’s variant equipment list:For this guide, we’re comparing the top spec Toyota Yaris G with the top spec Honda Jazz V variant and the Honda Jazz Hybrid as well.In terms of safety equipment, the Yaris far outshines both Jazz

Jerrica

Jerrica

Jan 28, 2020

Honda extends 12.12 City sale until 31-Dec!

If you haven’t decided on getting a brand-new Honda City from Honda’s 12.12 sale, then you’re in luck. Honda Malaysia has announced that it is extending its All-New City 12.12 Special Sale to 31-December 2020!This sale entitles customers to get a rebate worth RM 2,000 by booking and registering their new City by 31-December. This special rebate only applies to the S and E variants of the City.Honda has stated that there have been 11,000 bookings received for the all-new City an

CY Foong

CY Foong

Dec 11, 2020