Tag

honda city review

Review: 2020 Non-turbo Honda City – What the Indian media says

The 2020 Honda City has yet to go on sale in India, but some Indian medias have started publishing their reviews.To recap, the India market Honda City is slightly different from the Thailand market model. The 1.0-litre turbocharged engine featured on the City RS isn’t offered in India; instead, buyers in India have the choice of two engines: a new 1.5-litre DOHC petrol engine and a carried-over 1.5-litre diesel engine. The petrol engine can be had with a CVT-type automatic or a 6-speed man

Eric

Eric

Jul 1, 2020

Quick Review: 2020 Honda City 1.5L V - good choice for a zippy family car

When we brought you the closer look of the 2020 Honda CR-V facelift last week, we also saw the all-new 2020 Honda City modified parking pretty outside. We know youre clamouring to know more - so we politely asked for the keys and took it for a spin.Please note that this is a brief review, and a detailed review will follow post-CMCO.We drove the V variant - which is the range-topping petrol variant before the upcoming hybrid RS - and heres what we think of it following a brief drive around Kuala

Sanjay

Sanjay

Nov 9, 2020

Review: Driving the world's first 2020 Honda City RS with i-MMD in Malaysia

Before we go any further, we need to establish two things. First, the all-new fifth generation 2020 Honda City Hybrid Malaysia (GN series) is yet to be launched. Second, prices have not been announced.However, we were given an early preview drive in the all-new 2020 City on the condition that we dont mention anything about Citys interior – that will have to wait until the car is launched.We were only given a two-lap drive around the Melaka International Motorsport Circuit, but out of the t

Hans

Hans

Sep 25, 2020

Review: All-new 2020 Honda City Turbo RS - what does the Thai media think?

Is it me or is it getting hot in here? Honda Malaysia has already started firing us up with teasers of the all-new 2020 Honda City (and taking potshots at the Toyota Vios at that) but is it as hot as its made out to be? Does all-new mean all-good? Thanks to this review by our Thai colleagues at Autofun.co.th who had the range-topping City Turbo RS for a week, we can take an exclusive deep dive into the car thats keen to swoop our markets, such as Honda City interior.Lets dive in!2020 Honda City

Sanjay

Sanjay

Aug 5, 2020

Review: Here's what the Thai media says of the 2021 Honda City Hatchback

The 2021 Honda City Hatchback is coming to Malaysia, and news of it superseding the Honda Jazz has drawn rather mixed reactions. Some lament the Jazzs departure from this region, but our colleagues over at AutoFun Thailand think that the City Hatchback is a worthy successor.Exterior - RS looks goodPictured in Meteroid Grey MetallicTheres three variants of the City Hatchback in the Land of Smiles - S+, SV, and as tested is this range-topping RS variant.Clockwise from top left: LED headlights and

Sanjay

Sanjay

Mar 13, 2021

Honda City 1.0L Turbo, engine review: Should Malaysians demand for this new engine?

As you might have already know, the latest fifth generation Honda City has just gone on sale in Thailand earlier this year. Hondas B-segment sedan will now one-up its chief rival the Toyota Vios with an all-new 1.0-litre turbocharged engine.The latest Honda City is not expected to be launched in Malaysia until 2021. Thailand remains the only market in the world to sell it, to be followed by India in the second half of 2020, and the rest of world starting 2021.This means that we cant give you our

Hans

Hans

May 26, 2020

Review: Honda City vs Toyota Vios, does Toyota Vios have any advantages?

(2019 Toyota Vios prices and specs | Gallery)To begin with, a full disclosure – my daily is a 2014 (third generation pre-facelift) Toyota Vios and some bias may be involved in this review, but not in the way that you think, its actually against the Toyota Vios.Personally, the Toyota Vios has never been appealing because to me, it is merely a means to avoid our national brands. And when my family decided to get one back in 2014, needless to say I wasnt particularly thrilled by the news.2014

Shaun

Shaun

Feb 10, 2020

Review: Honda City Hybrid – electrified performance for the masses

(Model | Gallery)The Honda City needs no introduction, as it is Malaysias favourite non-national B-segment sedan.Honda Malaysia offers several variants of the City, ranging from the affordable City 1.5 S (from RM 73,836) all the way up to the City Hybrid (from RM 92,172). We reckon that the Honda City Hybrid is worth it, as the sophisticated powertrain transforms the unassuming Honda City into a capable performer that does not sacrifice fuel consumption.Honda City ExteriorThe Honda City Hybrid m

Eric

Eric

Nov 1, 2019

Honda extends 12.12 City sale until 31-Dec!

If you haven’t decided on getting a brand-new Honda City from Honda’s 12.12 sale, then you’re in luck. Honda Malaysia has announced that it is extending its All-New City 12.12 Special Sale to 31-December 2020!This sale entitles customers to get a rebate worth RM 2,000 by booking and registering their new City by 31-December. This special rebate only applies to the S and E variants of the City.Honda has stated that there have been 11,000 bookings received for the all-new City an

CY Foong

CY Foong

Dec 11, 2020

Honda Malaysia releases new teaser video for the 2020 Honda City RS' Sensing feature

The all-new Honda City RS is set to make its global debut in Malaysia soon. It will be the world's first Honda City to feature the company's latest 2-motor full-hybrid i-MMD drivetrain.We’ve driven the car, albeit for a short while and all photos or videos of the car’s interior are embargoed until the car is launched. You can read our review here.The video above demonstrates the Honda City RS' Sensing feature at work.  (function(d, s, id) { let js, fjs = d.getElement

Hans

Hans

Sep 26, 2020

Another teaser for all-new 2020 Honda City - Features LED taillights

Honda Malaysia has once again uploaded another teaser post on its all-new 2020 Honda City on its Facebook page. This time it features the LED taillights.Model shown is the Thai-spec City RSJust like its last teaser post, Honda is taking potshots at its archrival, the Toyota Vios with a caption that might rile up some feathers at UMW Toyota's HQ. The caption on the post says:Keep staring, we don't mind.#theshowstopper#allnewcity#thetakeoverstartsnowNo launch date has been announced s

CY Foong

CY Foong

Aug 7, 2020

Honda City GM6 (generasi sebelum): Berbaloi beli model ini secara terpakai?

Honda CityHonda City generasi GM6 telah dilancarkan pada tahun 2017. Model ini sememangnya agak mudah dijumpai dalam pasaran kereta terpakai dengan julat harga sekitar RM 46,000 hingga RM 76,000. Disebabkan oleh kedatangan model baharu Honda City dalam hujung tahun 2020 ini, berkemungkinan besar model ini akan lebih banyak dijual dalam pasaran kereta terpakai. Oleh itu, adakah berbaloi jika anda masih berminat dengan model yang kurang daripada 5 tahun ini? Latar belakangHonda City telah dilancar

Haris

Haris

Aug 11, 2020

The missing link – The forgotten second-gen Honda City

The Honda City is often remembered as either the tall-boy Bulldog from the 1980s or the ones many Malaysians fondly remembered that grew from a humble car to a torque-kicking revolution.But following the infamous first-gen turbocharged City that also produced this ear-catching jingle, its follow-up was seen as a step back from the first-gen.Honda called the Motocompo a "trabai" which was short for trunk-bike and not related with a common derogatory termThe first-gen City (known as the

CY Foong

CY Foong

Oct 10, 2020

Deliveries of the 2021 Honda City RS to start this March

Amidst the launch of the Honda Connect, Honda Malaysia has also said that the long-awaited Honda City RS hybrid variant will begin delivery to customers from this month onwards.Honda’s telematics system which is already available in Thailand since 2018 will be making its Malaysian debut with the City RS. Honda Connect is able to keep track of your car’s location, remind you of its next service date as well as calling the emergency if you’re involved in a collision.Also read: Ho

CY Foong

CY Foong

Mar 9, 2021

Lagi video acah untuk Honda City 2020 serba baharu – Lampu brek LED!

Honda Malaysia sekali lagi telah memuat-naik satu video acah untuk Honda City 2020 serba baru di laman Facebook mereka. Kali ini, mereka menayangkan lampu belakang LED!Model yang ditunjukkan ialah City RS spesifikasi ThaiSama seperti acahnya sebelum ini, Honda nampak gayanya ingin menyaingi pesaing ketatnya, Toyota Vios, dengan kapsyen yang seperti ditujukan kepada UMW Toyota. Kapsyen pada muat-naik tersebut tertulis:Keep staring, we don't mind.#theshowstopper#allnewcity#thetakeoverstar

Mersita

Mersita

Aug 7, 2020

After Malaysia and Thailand, the Honda City heads to Indonesia - can it do well there?

Following news of the 2021 Honda City Hatchback heading to Indonesia, its now seemingly confirmed that its sedan counterpart, the Honda City, is also heading towards the archipelago. Thail-spec City Hatchback with Modulo bodykit. Cooler than Yaris?You may be wondering why its the hatch that was confirmed earlier. One factor is taxation: sedans are taxed around 20 percent higher than MPVs, SUVs or hatchbacks there - even with the same engine capacity and drivetrain. As such, hatchbacks are more p

Sanjay

Sanjay

Jan 6, 2021

The Honda City, Jazz, and CR-V achieved top ranking in quality study

Honda Malaysia’s top sellers, the Honda City, Jazz, and CR-V led their respective segments in the J.D. Power 2019 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS).The Honda City scored 59 PP100 and the Honda Jazz scored 68 PP100. Meanwhile, the Honda CR-V also ranked highest in its segment with a score of 64 PP100.The areas of study include vehicle exterior, engine and transmission, audio entertainment connectivity and others. Based on responses from the number of problems exp

Shaun

Shaun

Feb 19, 2020

Outgoing (old) GM6 generation Honda City – Is it still a good buy?

The outgoing generation Honda City will soon be replaced with an all-new model. Honda Malaysia have since released a teaser image for the all-new 2020 Honda City, which is expected to be launched in Malaysia within this quarter.To make way for the new model, dealers are offering discounts of at least RM 4,000. Don't expect the all-new Honda City to maintain the current price though. We have already explained why here. In short, removal/reduced EEV incentives by the government

Eric

Eric

Jun 27, 2020

Owner Review: Moving Forward With My Life - How I Got My Honda City

** This article is the personal experience of a 2016 Honda City 1.5V owner and does not necessarily reflect the views of Wapcar.Facebook: Min Tze KhorA Little Bit of HistoryMy first car was 1st gen Proton Saga (manual transmission) which was passed down by my father, and the second car I drove was 1st gen Proton Waja (manual transmission) which was also passed down by my father. Back in 2016 when I was sent to work in a rural area in Terengganu, I got to drive the Proton Waja for about 5hou

Owner Review

Owner Review

Jul 8, 2020

Spied: All-new 2020 Honda City spotted in Malaysia, launch imminent?

The all-new 2020 Honda City has been spotted undisguised in Malaysia, suggesting that Honda Malaysia is launching the highly-anticipated model sooner than expected.Our friends over at Pandulaju recently posted a photo of the all-new Honda City on the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH), likely undergoing a video shoot session.Thai-spec car picturedFrom the looks of it, this particular Honda City is the range-topping RS variant, as evident from its Ignite Red paint job, 16-inch allo

Eric

Eric

Aug 10, 2020

Model Panas - Evolusi 5 generasi Honda City di Malaysia

Kalaulah kita tak ada pembuat kereta tempatan, Honda City atau Honda Jazz mungkin akan mendominasi jalanraya di Malaysia. Honda City, padan dengan namanya, sememangnya sebuah kereta bandar yang cukup bagus. Walaupun model yang kita boleh jumpa di sini adalah City versi petrol dan hibrid, ia juga sebenarnya boleh didapati dalam varian diesel dan transmisi manual di negara lain.Dengan kehadiran Honda City 2020 baharu di Malaysia, sesuailah jika kiranya kita imbas semula sejarah ringkas Honda City

Mersita

Mersita

Oct 14, 2020

Honda City Hatchback 2021 vs Honda Jazz 2020 – yang mana lebih baik?

Seperti yang pernah dimaklumkan, Honda Jazz generasi terbaru tidak akan diperkenalkan di Malaysia. Walaupun model ini telah menjadi satu kejayaan, Honda Malaysia perlu menawarkan sesuatu yang lebih menepati citarasa pasaran. Namun begitu, mengapakah Honda Jazz digantikan dengan Honda City Hatchback?Untuk maklumat anda, Honda Jazz generasi keempat hanya dilancarkan di Jepun, Eropah, dan China. Pelancaran di Amerika pula masih belum diumumkan. Di Jepun, ia hadir dengan pilihan enjin hibrid penuh 1

Faisal

Faisal

Nov 24, 2020

Toyota Vios vs Honda City; How do they compare?

The hottest car segment is undeniably the B-segment sedans. You can’t talk about the Honda City without mentioning the Toyota Vios and likewise. But have you ever compared the two cars’ equipment list side by side?For this comparison, we compare the range topping Toyota Vios G variant against the Honda City V variant and City Hybrid as well.Toyota made a huge mark when they debuted the Vios in 2003, but the third generation, unfortunately, let the model down allowing the City to

Jerrica

Jerrica

Jan 29, 2020

Honda City vs Toyota Vios vs Volkswagen Vento – which B-segment sedan is for you?

Honda City is Honda’s volume leader in the non-national B-segment market, having sold a total of 31,357 units last year. The popularity is attributed to a well-rounded package and specification that people have come to expect from the H brand.(2017 Honda City Gallery | Specifications | Full Review)Honda CityTrailing behind with 23,986 units is the original B-segment favorite, the Toyota Vios. Having launched early last year, it is the best Vios on sale yet as it is well-equipped now.(2019

Zamil Syaheer

Zamil Syaheer

Apr 7, 2020

Honda Jazz vs 2021 Honda City Hatchback, which do you prefer?

The first ever 2021 Honda City Hatchback made its global debut in Thailand earlier today. Following the same formula as the Toyota Yaris and Toyota Vios (sold as Yaris Ativ in Thailand), the City Hatchback will have an identical front-end as the City sedan, and will replace the Honda Jazz, which has been sold in this region for three generations. 2020 Honda Jazz (Fit) is cute but unless you are an anime fan, few here can accept its looksThe fourth generation Honda Jazz however, will skip market

Hans

Hans

Nov 24, 2020

FAQ: Definitive guide about the all-new 2020 Honda City before its Malaysian launch!

Suffice to say, after Honda Malaysia’s multiple teasers and one very, very daring ad, Malaysians are pretty hopped up on news of the all-new 2020 Honda City. Don't confuse yourself any further - here's the definitive guide of all you should know thus far about the upcoming B-segment warrior!Q: My WhatsApp groups have been buzzing about the engine. What’s the fuss?The fuss is the relatively super-high torque output the City will have.The talking point however has been the

Sanjay

Sanjay

Aug 21, 2020

The evolution of the Malaysian Honda City in 5 generations

Had it been that we had no local automobile manufacturer, the Honda City / Honda Jazz would probably the most abundant vehicle on our Malaysian roads. The Honda City, as its name suggests, is a city car. While we may have only seen the petrol and hybrid versions of the city here, it is actually available in a diesel variant and even a manual transmission elsewhere.With the arrival of the new 2020 Honda City in Malaysia, it seems like a good time to look back at a brief history of the Honda City.

Arif

Arif

Oct 13, 2020

Owner Review: My Best Friend For 10 Years - Story of My 2010 Honda City GM2

** This article is the personal experience of a 2010 Honda City GM2 owner and does not necessarily reflect the views of WapCarFacebook: Ben OoiFirst Taste of Japanese CarsI drive a 2010 Honda City S Spec, its a GM2 generation model which we bought at RM84,980. There was a full spec variant dubbed E Spec which came with paddle shifters and 16" inch Sport Rims which I didn't get. This is my third car and my first Honda. The first 2 cars were basically good old trusty Proton Wira

Owner Review

Owner Review

Jun 27, 2020

All-new 2020 Honda City launched in India, gets LaneWatch and sunroof

Honda Cars India has just launched the all-new 2020 Honda City in India. The new model will be sold alongside the GM6-generation model, but we’ll get into that later.Unlike the Thai-market Honda City and its sophisticated 1.0-litre turbocharged petrol engine, the Indian-market City is offered with two engine choices: a new 1.5-litre DOHC petrol engine and a carried-over 1.5-litre diesel engine. The petrol engine can be had with a CVT-type automatic or a 6-speed manual, while the diesel is

Eric

Eric

Jul 15, 2020

Owner Review: Experiencing the Honda City - A car that is not love at first sight

** This article is the personal experience of a 2014 Honda City GM6 owner and does not necessarily reflect the views of WapCar.Facebook: Najib Ar-RahmanBackgroundIt was 2014 and I was in the market to purchase my first car. I have just recently started working for around 1.5 years or so and was earning around RM3.5K per month. My daily commute all that while was via public transport but the same year, I decided to get married, which is why I needed to buy a car. The usual choice for someone

Owner Review

Owner Review

Aug 8, 2020