Tag

perodua kenari review

Perodua Kenari – Uniquely bad or brilliantly practical?

This year not only marked the 20th anniversary of the Proton Waja, but also one of the weirdest Perodua models sold.Before the overwhelming success of the Myvi, Perodua was always overshadowed by Proton. Granted, Perodua and Proton weren’t directly competing then. Perodua focused itself on basic city runabouts with smaller engines and this didn’t affect sales of Proton.Perodua had a very simple 3-car line-up too. The Kancil was meant for beginner drivers, the Rusa was for simple comm

CY Foong

CY Foong

Jul 7, 2020

Perodua Kenari – Teruk dan pelik, atau ‘best’ dan praktikal?

Tahun ini, kita bukan sahaja memasuki tahun ke-20 bagi Proton Waja, tetapi ia juga ulangtahun bagi salah satu model Perodua yang paling ‘aneh’ pernah dijual.Sebelum kehebatan Myvi terkenal seantero Malaysia, Perodua seringkali dibayangi oleh Proton. Hakikatnya, Perodua dan Proton tidak bersaing secara langsung ketika itu. Matlamat Perodua berfokus pada pemanduan biasa di bandar dengan enjin lebih kecil, dan ini tidak mengganggu jualan Proton.Pada masa yang sama, Perodua mempunyai bar

Mersita

Mersita

Jul 8, 2020

Perodua Kenari terbakar, padah biarkan enjin hidup ketika isi minyak?

Seorang pemilik Perodua Kenari mengalami detik cemas apabila kereta miliknya terbakar ketika mengisi minyak. Kejadian tersebut berlaku di Stesen Minyak Petron ML1.5 Sandakan dan berjaya dirakam oleh kamera litar tertutup (CCTV).Beberapa orang pekerja stesen minyak dilihat turut cuba membantu mangsa untuk memadamkan api yang telah menyambar ke bahagian sisi kenderaan. Mangsa pula kelihatan telah mengesan kebakaran yang bermula pada bahagian bawah enjin dan cuba memadam api tersebut dengan air. (

Haris

Haris

Apr 6, 2021

Perodua Kelisa – The modern successor to the Mini

Clarkson is an ape. That’s quite a way to start off a story about the Perodua Kelisa. We all know how he made fun of the little Malaysian car and while it was all for entertainment, Malaysians tend to go a bit on the defense when someone picks a fight with our culture.The Perodua Kelisa wasn’t supposed to be a remarkable car. It was launched in 2001 and while it was originally planned to be the replacement to the Kancil, it was instead sold alongside it for six years before both cars

CY Foong

CY Foong

Jul 18, 2020

Perodua Kelisa: MINI kegemaran Malaysia!

Zaman sekarang ni, kereta dibina semakin besar. Sebab itulah trend kereta sekarang ini ke arah SUV. Besar dan luas. Namun tahukah anda, SUV lebih senang terbalik berbanding sedan? Oleh itu, fikir dahulu masak-masak sebelum melompat mengikut trend masa kini.Namun, lain pula ceritanya dengan zaman dahulu. Di bumi bertuah Malaysia ini, kita telah diberkati dengan kereta bersaiz kecil, Perodua Kancil dan Perodua Kelisa. Kedua-duanya memang mudah dipandu tetapi Perodua Kelisa menganjak paradigma kita

Haris

Haris

Jul 23, 2020

Should you wait for the Perodua D55L or book a Proton X50?

I hope you’re not feeling too queasy for more coverage of the Proton X50 because well, here’s another one.Unlike others that churn out plenty of bite-sized visual information on the hottest car to come out from the Malaysian Tiger in a day, we decided to put the spotlight on another highly anticipated Malaysian SUV, the Perodua D55L.The battle of two PsHistorically, Proton and Perodua were never meant to be rivals as both carmakers were catered to different demographics. Perodua focu

CY Foong

CY Foong

Oct 2, 2020

Owner Review: My Childhood Companion - 2002 Perodua Kelisa EZi

** This article is the personal experience of a 2002 Perodua Kelisa EZi owner and does not necessarily reflect the views of WapCar.Facebook: Ling Chee Haut↓↓↓ Press Here To Share Your Story ↓↓↓About My Perodua KelisaThis is the 2002 Perodua Kelisa EZi. It is based on the Daihatsu Mira L700, the fifth-generation Mira which debuted in 1998. The Kelisa is then introduced in 2001. It has a tiny 989cc EJ-DE DOHC inline-3 engine, a 4-speed automatic front-wheel drive

Owner Review

Owner Review

Jul 29, 2020

7 legendary turbocharged Daihatsu models that precede the Perodua D55L

The Perodua D55L’s official launch date is fast approaching and the SUV will feature many firsts for the brand. This includes the first model to be built on the DNGA platform and the first to get a CVT gearbox. Apart from those, the D55L will also be the first Perodua model to be powered by a turbocharged engine.Read also: Quick review: 2021 Perodua D55L – The best Perodua to date?Granted, it won’t be the next quick thing but a turbocharged Perodua is still pretty exciting neve

CY Foong

CY Foong

Feb 27, 2021

Owner Review: A love-hate relationship with the CVT -  My experience with the Honda City 1.5E

** This article is the personal experience of a 2014 Honda City 1.5 E owner and does not necessarily reflect the views of WapCarFacebook: Akmal Faiz ShahadanNice BargainI drive a 2014 Honda City 1.5 E, pre-facelift model from GM6 generation. I bought it second-hand a year ago with the price tag of RM 55,000 on the road. Making it one of the cheapest in the market back then considering it only clocked 41,000 km mileage. After I managed to negotiate the price from RM 58,000 to

Owner Review

Owner Review

Jul 1, 2020

Quick review: 2021 Perodua D55L – The best Perodua to date?

The question that many of you guys have been waiting for is almost here – how well does the upcoming 2021 Perodua D55L drive? Keep in mind that this review was done at Peroduas Rawang test track, but no photos were allowed.Apart from opening bookings a week ago, Perodua has only revealed estimated prices of the D55L. The D55L range kicks off with the X variant, priced from RM 62,500, while the H variant is price from RM 67,300. As for the range-topping AV variant, its estimated price is RM

Eric

Eric

Feb 24, 2021

We’ve bought a Perodua Ativa for a long-term review and tear down!

So, we’ve bought a Perodua Ativa for a long-term review. Having booked the car in January 2021 (way before the virtual launch), we’re one of the early customers to receive the car.All along, weve been pestering the showroom to expedite the delivery, and were very happy that its finally here. Pearl Delima Red - looked darker in the brochureWhat did we order?We’ve opted for the AV variant with a two-tone paint job, featuring the “Pearl Delima Red” body colour and blac

Arif

Arif

Mar 19, 2021

Review: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.3 Advance, is it worth RM 49,980? Why not a Persona?

(2020 Perodua Bezza specs & price | Gallery)The range-topping Perodua Bezza 1.3 Advance is in many ways, a misunderstood car. Mainly because of its hefty asking price (for A-segment sedan) of RM 49,980.In comparison, the most cheap 2019 Proton Saga 1.3 Premium sells for RM 39,800 – a cool RM 10,000 cheaper. With a budget of circa RM 50k, the Bezza vs Myvi vs Persona, one would also look at the Perodua Myvi 1.3 H (RM 50,290) and Proton Persona 1.6 Executive (RM 49,600).Cross-segment sho

Adrian Chia

Adrian Chia

Apr 20, 2020

7 lagenda Daihatsu yang guna enjin turbo sebelum Perodua Ativa (D55L)

Perodua Ativa (D55L) bakal dilancarkan dalam beberapa jam sahaja lagi. SUV segmen B ini mendatangkan pelbagai ciri yang pertama buat Perodua. Antaranya seperti platform DNGA dan transmisi CVT. Selain itu, Perodua Ativa (D55L) juga adalah model Perodua pertama yang datang dengan enjin turbo.Teknologi sebegini sudah pasti menimbulkan rasa teruja di kalangan rakyat Malaysia. Walaupun enjin 1.0L 1KR-VET yang didatangkan hanya menghasilkan 98 PS dan 140 Nm tork sahaja, pecutan 0-100 km/j (spec AWD di

Faisal

Faisal

Mar 3, 2021

Review: 2021 Perodua Ativa AV – The new Malaysian highway king

Coming from a family with several Perodua cars, I was looking forward to driving the 2021 Perodua Ativa. There was a lot to look forward to in terms of the powertrain, safety features, and platform. The price isn’t too bad either, being a bit pricier than the Perodua Myvi.How good is the new Perodua Ativa? Let me walk you through my experience.Exterior - An adorable thingThe Perodua Ativa strikes a good balance between adorable and aggressive. There is a sense of cheerful youthfulness to t

Arif

Arif

Mar 14, 2021

Daihatsu bakal melancarkan kereta hibrid sepenuhnya pada 2021 – Perodua seterusnya?

Daihatsu, anak syarikat kereta kompak Toyota akan melancarkan kereta ‘kei’ (mini) hibrid baru dalam tahun kewangan 2021, lapor Nikkan Kogyo Shimbun dari Jepun.Nikkan Kogyo Shimbun juga berkata kereta elektrik bateri pertama (BEV) Daihatsu akan mula dijual pada tahun 2022.Daihatsu Move Canbus.Tidak seperti hibrid ringan, hibrid penuh dapat memecut dari statik menggunakan tenaga elektrik sahaja. Ia menawarkan pengalaman pemanduan yang lebih lancar dalam keadaan trafik di bandar. Motor

Zamil Syaheer

Zamil Syaheer

Dec 30, 2020

6 little things we like about our Ativa – long term review #7

As we drive our Ativa for more than two weeks, the excitement of owning a brand-new car has worn out. We’ve started to see more Ativas on the road too, and Cik Tiva doesn’t attract as much attention as she used to in the first few days.Worn out excitement aside, there are some little plus points that we find worth highlighting, in case the thought of buying an Ativa ever crossed your mind.The subject matter of its decent powertrain and suspension have been discussed multiple times, s

Arif

Arif

Apr 10, 2021

Our Ativa’s rattling sound is fixed! What was the problem? - Long-term review #6

It has been about two weeks of ownership with our Perodua Ativa. How have things been? Well, the rattling sound we mentioned previously had gotten really annoying. Every time we drove over abrupt irregularities on the right side, the sound became more and more apparent.We were sure the rattling came from the rear right corner, but we werent sure what it was exactly.We needed to take the Ativa to Sepang on Tuesday to check out some Malaysian-made electric car, so we held off going to the service

Arif

Arif

Apr 2, 2021

Costs RM 64, our Ativa goes for its 1k km inspection - Long-term Review #5

It turns out doing 1,000 km in one week wasn’t so hard after all. Having done a good mix of city and slight highway driving, we’ve successfully run-in the Perodua Ativa last week and we have sent it in for a 1,000 km inspection last Friday. So, we booked our appointment at Perodua Service Sungai Penchala for 10 am. Everything went according to schedule and Cik Tiva was hoisted as soon as we finished talking with the service consultant. What does the 1,000 km inspection entail? Not mu

Arif

Arif

Mar 30, 2021

Review: Perodua Aruz 1.5 AV, is it worth paying RM 77,900 for a Perodua?

(2019 Perodua Aruz Prices & Specs | Gallery)People always compare the Perodua Aruz with Toyota Rush, although the Perodua Aruz exterior is similar to the Toyota Rush, the Perodua Aruz interior is different from the Toyota Rush.With roughly 25,000 units sold to date since its introduction back in January, the Perodua Aruz has proven itself to be a popular model.This is despite the fact that the Perodua Aruz is currently Peroduas most expensive model on sale right now, priced from RM 72,900.Pe

Eric

Eric

Dec 2, 2019

Tun M receives delivery of his Perodua Ativa; Check out that number plate!

Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has always been at the forefront of encouraging Malaysians in innovation, especially in the automotive industry. Today he revealed that he has just received delivery of his brand new Perodua Ativa with a number plate 2020. (function(d, s, id) { let js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src =https://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5; fjs.parentNode.in

Jerrica

Jerrica

Apr 14, 2021

First week with the Perodua Ativa - Something is rattling

It has been one week since we collected our Perodua Ativa and we have managed to cover more than 1,000 km on the odometer. We’ve been really good boys & girls during the first 1,000 km, following the instructions in the owner’s manual on the run-in (or break-in) period.Run-in period is overThe schedule has been busy for all of us at WapCar, and not everyone has managed to have a go with “Cik Tiva”. Those who have, however, seem very delighted and impressed.Cik Tiva ha

Arif

Arif

Mar 27, 2021

Watch the 2021 Perodua Ativa (D55L) launch at 8pm tonight

As reported earlier, today is the day that everyone has been waiting for – Perodua will be launching the 2021 Perodua Ativa (D55L) virtually at 8pm tonight.Update: The Perodua Ativa has been launched. Details here.You can catch the livestream either on Perodua’s Facebook page, or via Perodua’s microsite here.To recap, the 2021 Perodua Ativa will be the first Perodua model to get a turbocharged engine, in the form of a 1-litre 1KR-VET that outputs 98 PS and 140 Nm. The sole tran

Eric

Eric

Mar 3, 2021

Top 5 brand new fuel-efficient cars in Malaysia that aren’t Perodua

To most average Malaysians, one of the key factors in buying a car is good fuel economy and for a lot of them, the choice is obvious: Perodua. It’s a no-brainer really, they’re cheap but reliable and fuel-efficient.There’s no denying that Peroduas like the Bezza and Axia are the go-to choice for fuel-efficient automobiles but at WapCar, we want to stand out. Besides, what’s wrong with spreading out your options? With that out of the way, here are 5 brand new fuel-efficien

CY Foong

CY Foong

Aug 5, 2020

UMW's Toyota and Perodua sold 20,739 units in Jan 2021, hints at new models

Range-topping Vios GR Sport picturedJanuary 2021 has been a strong month for the UMW Group as car brands under their umbrella - Toyota and Perodua - sold a cumulative 20,739 units. The company attributes this to the SST-exemption incentive that goes on until 30-June 2021.Good start for ToyotaRead whats new about the facelifted Vios hereThe company said its subsidiary, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT), sold 3,845 units in January 2021, a 4.1 percent increase from the 3,692 units sold in January 2020.Whats

Sanjay

Sanjay

Feb 16, 2021

Review: Daihatsu Rocky aka Perodua D55L, apa pendapat media Jepun?

Perodua D55L baru-baru ini diintip di Putrajaya, betul-betul di luar perkarangan Pejabat JPJ, dan ini mengesahkan lagi kehadirannya tak lama lagi.Setakat ini, apa yang kami dapat sahkan ialah Perodua D55L akan dibina berdasarkan si kembar Daihatsu Rocky/Toyota Raize, berkongsi platform DNGA.Di Jepun, Daihatsu Rocky sudahpun diperkenalkan selama lebih kurang setahun dan di sana, kami ingin rungkaikan pendapat media Jepun tentang SUV kompak ini.webCG memuji SUV ini kerana pengemudiannya yang bagus

Mersita

Mersita

Nov 17, 2020

Perodua aims to sell 240k vehicles in 2021 - Myvi and D55L to lead the charge?

Perodua aims to sell 240,000 vehicles in 2021 - a 9% increase from the impressive 220,163 units sold last year. The company cites sustained strong demand for existing models and the sales tax (SST) exemption as key factors in achieving this goal.Prefer a sedan? Read what we think of the Bezza in this article.Peroduas sales figures last year netted them 41.6% market share of the 529,434 new cars sold in Malaysia (better known as Total Industry Volume, TIV) in 2020.Heres how each model performed f

Sanjay

Sanjay

Feb 3, 2021

Proton X50 vs Perodua Aruz – Do you really need that 2 extra seats?

This week saw the media preview of the Proton X50. Some might be tired of all the hype and some might even be tired of waiting for the official price list. Having said that, we predicted that the price of the X50 could range between RM 80,000 to a little over RM 100,000.With that price, it is priced closely to Perodua’s SUV. No, not the D55L, that might be out in 2021. I’m talking about the Perodua Aruz. At RM 77,900 (inclusive of SST) for the top-of-the-range 1.5 AV, shoul

CY Foong

CY Foong

Oct 1, 2020

Perodua factory undergoing upgrades for Perodua D55L SUV, delayed due to MCO

Perodua’s manufacturing facility in Rawang is temporarily closed for retooling purposes. According to RHB Investment's newsletter, the retooling exercise is said to set up the production line for their upcoming Perodua D55L SUV.We all know that Perodua’s next model will be their D55L SUV and it is based on the Toyota Raize & Daihatsu Rocky duo. These cars will sit on the latest-generation Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform.Perodua will be tasked to manufact

Adrian Chia

Adrian Chia

Mar 26, 2020

Spied: First look at undisguised Perodua Ativa (D55L)!

Ladies and gentlemen, these are undisguised images of the Perodua Ativa (D55L) taken ahead of next week’s official launch on 3-March 2021.Based on the images that were shared by the RiderAth Facebook page, Perodua has given their own design touch on the front grille to make it more distinctive than its donor cars, the Toyota Raize/Daihatsu Rocky.More distinct looks than its Japanese donor carsThe grille appears larger than its Japanese counterparts while the foglight housing has a boomeran

CY Foong

CY Foong

Feb 27, 2021

How long did we wait for our Perodua Ativa? And how much did we pay for it?

If you’ve been following our website or YouTube channel, you would know that we have just bought a Perodua Ativa. We’re not the first customer to receive the car but we’ve got it early enough to still be able to turn heads at the traffic light.The head-turning effect will wear out eventually, so we’re enjoying its as much as we can for the time being.In our earlier post and YouTube video, there’s one thing we forgot to mention as pointed out by one of our readers &n

Arif

Arif

Mar 25, 2021